Each MailChimp account has five levels of access available for users: viewer, author, manager, admin, and owner. The account owner or an admin can invite other users to join, controlling what they see in the account by assigning them a user type.

Below, we explain how to grant and remove account access and outline the differences between each of the user types.

Contents

User type

  • Owner specifies the person who serves as the primary contact for the account. Owners and Admins have all the same permissions.
  • Admin provides an all-access pass to the account. Admins can perform all actions in the account. They can invite new users, edit billing information, and close the account.
  • Manager allows a user to create and send campaigns, import lists, and view reports. This user type can't access billing information, export lists, or close the account.
  • Author allows a user to create, edit, and delete campaigns, templates, and autoresponders. This user type also has access to view reports.
  • Viewer allows a user to view reports reports in the account.

Grant account access

The Users & account details page displays the names, usernames, and user types for everyone who can access your MailChimp account. From this page, you can revoke access, view pending account invitations, and re-send invitation emails.

To invite a new user to your account, do the following.

  1. Click your profile name to open the Account Panel.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Click the Account settings drop-down menu and choose Users & account details.
    Users & Account Details
  4. Click the Invite A User button.
  5. Add the email address of the person you want to grant access to and choose an option under User type. You can add a message to share any pertinent information or instructions for your account.
  6. Click the Send Invitation button to invite that user to your account.
  7. Users & Account Details

The email invitation prompts the recipient to join your account. If the person already has a MailChimp account, they can use that username and password to log in and access your account. Or, they can create a new username and password to use for your account. Want to require an additional layer of security for users you invite to your account? Check out our two-factor authentication solution called AlterEgo.

Change account access

An account administrator can change a user's level of access from their User details page in the account.

  1. Click your profile name to open the Account Panel.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Click the Account settings drop-down menu and choose Users & account details.
    Users & Account Details
  4. Click the Edit button for the user whose access level you'd like to change.
  5. Choose the level of access you'd like to grant this user, then click the Save button.
    Users & Account Details

You can transfer ownership of the account once you have more than one Admin on the account. Change an Admin's user type to Owner and click Save. The previous Owner's user type changes to Admin.
Transfer from admin to owner

Remove account access

Once a user has accepted the invitation to an account, they can be removed at any time. Admins can delete other users from accounts, while individual users can disable their own access.

Admin revokes access

Anyone with Admin permissions on the account can delete any other user's access. If an Admin wants to revoke their own access, a different account Admin or the Owner will need to revoke access.

  1. Click your profile name to open the Account Panel.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Click the Account Settings drop-down menu and choose Users & account details.
  4. Scroll down to the Users in your account section and locate the user you want to remove.
  5. Click the Revoke Access button on the right-hand side of the page.
  6. In the popup window click the Yes, Delete User button to confirm the removal.

User disables access

You can remove yourself from another user's account in the My profile section of the account.

  1. Click your profile name to open the Account Panel.
  2. Click My Profile.
  3. Scroll down to the Accounts & notifications section.
  4. Click on the Leave Account button in the far-right column of the account you wish to leave.

When you leave an account, your profile is completely deleted and you can no longer access the account. If this is the only account you have access to, your username and password will stop working on the login page.

Login options

All MailChimp accounts have two login options:

  • Account-specific login page, where only login credentials for that account can be used.
  • Log in through the main login page. Once the username and password are entered, you can choose an account to view.

Compare permission types

User action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

Account actions

Invite users Yes No No No
Revoke account access Yes No No No
Set user access level Yes No No No
Require AlterEgo authentication Yes No No No
Change billing information Yes No No No
Change company/organization name Yes Yes No No
Add or access API keys Yes Yes No No
Integrations Yes Yes No No
Monkey Rewards and Partner Discounts Yes Yes No No
Account export Yes No No No
Close account Yes No No No

User action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

List actions

View lists Yes Yes No No
List export Yes No No No
List import Yes Yes No No
Add subscribers Yes Yes No No
Delete subscribers Yes Yes No No
View segments Yes Yes No No
Edit list settings Yes Yes No No

User action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

Design

Create/Import templates Yes Yes Yes No
Edit templates Yes Yes Yes No
Create campaigns Yes Yes Yes No
Edit campaigns Yes Yes Yes No
Send campaigns Yes Yes No No
Pause campaigns Yes Yes Yes No
Delete campaigns Yes Yes Yes No

User action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

Reports

View reports Yes Yes Yes Yes
Subscriber-level reports Yes Yes Yes Yes
Conversations Yes Yes Yes Yes

Notes

You can transfer ownership of your account at any time. You need to have two users with Admin permissions so that you can transfer ownership from the current Owner to the other Admin.

Integrations that connect via API keys will continue to work as expected. Integrations that use OAuth2 to integrate with MailChimp will currently only work with Admin or Manager level user types.

The Mandrill integration page is limited to the account Owner only and will not be accessible by any other Admins or Managers.


Related Articles