When an email address is unsubscribed from your list, we store the address in the unsubscribed section, so that you can never accidentally add that person back to this list. A subscriber can resubscribe to your list by completing the double opt-in process again themselves, or, if they were unsubscribed by mistake, you can add them back manually by following the steps in this article.

You can unsubscribe email addresses either individually or in bulk.

Contents

Unsubscribe a single email address

Follow the steps below to unsubscribe a single contact from their subscriber profile.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click on the title of the list you'd like to unsubscribe the email address from.
  3. Click the search icon towards the top right corner of the screen.
  4. Type the subscriber's email address in the search bar and click the magnifying glass.
  5. In the search results, find the subscriber, and click the View Profile button next to their name.
  6. Click 'View profile' in search results
  7. Click the Unsubscribe button.
  8. Click 'Unsubscribe' in the subscriber profile
  9. On the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Confirm Unsubscribe.

The subscriber profile will still be available to view from the Unsubscribed list, and it will indicate when the user unsubscribed the address.

Unsubscribed profile view

Bulk unsubscribe

Follow the steps below to unsubscribe multiple addresses using the bulk unsubscribe option.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the title of the list you'd like to unsubscribe email addresses from.
  3. Click the Manage subscribers drop down menu and choose Unsubscribe people.
    Unsubscribe people
  4. Type or paste in the email addresses you'd like to unsubscribe into the Email addresses field.
    Unsubcribe
  5. Click the Unsubscribe button to unsubscribe the addresses from your list.

This feature is accessible by users with Manager level or higher permissions. Take a look at this article to learn more about the different access levels for a MailChimp account.

Note

  • When an address is manually unsubscribed from your list, we will not send them a confirmation email or unsubscribe notice.
  • If there's an active autoresponder or a recently-sent campaign for the list, the list can't be deleted for seven (7) days following the last campaign send. Lists are required to remain in the account for seven days following the sending of a campaign or autoresponder to ensure that subscribers have time to unsubscribe and reports can be collected. During this seven day period, the bulk actions to delete subscribers and move to list will be disabled.

Related Articles