Manage Content and Privacy in Campaign Archives

This feature requires Author user level or higher.

Campaign Archives are a great way to share past campaigns, but there may be some campaigns or campaign content that should only be seen by your subscribers. If you want to hide, limit, or customize your Campaign Archive, there are a few ways to do this.

In this article, you'll learn how manage content in your Campaign Archive.

Disable Archive Bar to Make Campaigns Private

When someone views the web browser-friendly, archived version of a campaign, we automatically include an Archive Bar that lets subscribers share your campaign, translate it, view your recent campaigns, and more.

A screenshot of the archive bar.

You can disable the Archive Bar if you don’t want people to access or share the past 20 campaigns sent to your list.

To disable the Archive Bar, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the list drop-down menu for the list you want to work with, and choose Settings.
    A cursor clicking the settings option.
  3. Click Publicity Settings.
  4. Uncheck the Activate the "archive bar" for this list box.
    Disabling the archive bar.
  5. Click Save Publicity Settings.

Now your Campaign Archive will no longer display the Archive Bar.  

Hide Campaign Text

You can replace or remove content from the archived version of your campaign with conditional merge tags. For example, you might want to send an invitation to a private event, but hide ticketing information from the archived version of your campaign. Content that’s hidden from the archive won’t be visible to non-subscribers like social media followers or Forward to a Friend recipients.

Hide Campaign Text

To hide content on the archived version of your campaign, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Design step of the Campaign Builder, and click the text block where your content is located.
  2. Add this merge tag before the text you want to hide on the archive. *|IFNOT:ARCHIVE_PAGE|*
  3. Add this merge tag after the text content you want to hide.
    *|END:IF|*
    A screenshot of a conditional merge tag block that hides archive content.
  4. Click Save & Close.

The content between the *|IFNOT:ARCHIVE_PAGE|* and *|END:IF|* merge tags won’t display in your campaign’s archived version.

To preview the archived version of your draft campaign, go to Preview Mode and click the View this email in your browser archive link.

Display Alternate Text

To hide certain content on the archived version of your campaign, and provide alternate text for archive viewers, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Design step of the Campaign Builder.
  2. Click the text block where your content is located.
  3. Add this merge tag before the text you to display on the archive as alternate text.
    *|IF:ARCHIVE_PAGE|*
  4. Add this merge tag before the text you want to show for subscribers only.
    *|ELSE:|*
  5. Add this merge tag after the text you want to show subscribers.
    *|END:IF|*
    A screenshot of a conditional merge tag block that hides and replaces archived content.
  6. Click Save & Close.

The text between the *|IF:ARCHIVE_PAGE|* and *|ELSE:|* merge tags will display on the archived version of your campaign only. The text between the *|ELSE:|* and *|END:IF|* will display in subscriber inboxes only.

To preview the archived version of your draft campaign, go to Preview Mode and click the View this email in your browser archive link.

Remove Certain Campaigns

To remove campaigns from the archive, use a custom archive on an external website, or delete the campaigns.

Use a Custom Campaign Archive

If you need more control over your archives, use a custom archive hosted on your website instead of the MailChimp Campaign Archive. To do this, you’ll turn off MailChimp’s Archive Bar and embed a custom archive on your website. A custom campaign archive allows you to choose which campaigns display, and set the number of campaigns that are shown in your archive.

Delete a Campaign

We typically advise against deleting campaigns because this action also removes your campaign report from the Reports section of your account. However, we realize that some campaigns may need to be removed from the Archive. When you delete a campaign from the Campaigns page, it will no longer display in your Campaign Archive but it won’t remove it from subscriber inboxes.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Technical Support