Delete a Group

This feature requires Manager user level or higher.

Groups can be deleted if you no longer need them in your MailChimp list. All list actions are permanent, and can't be undone, so be sure you want to delete the group.

When you delete a group, we don't delete any subscribers from your list, but we'll remove subscribers from the groups and delete the groups from your account. To remove subscribers from your list completely, you can delete or unsubscribe them from your lists.

In this article, you'll learn how to delete a group name or group category from your list.

Delete Group Name

To delete a single option (group name) from a complete group (group category), follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the list you want to work with, and choose Manage Subscribers.
  3. Click Groups.
  4. Click the View Groups button for the group category you want to edit.
  5. Locate the group name you want to remove, and click Delete.
  6. In the Are you sure? modal, type DELETE in the field provided to confirm that you want to permanently delete the group, and click Delete Group.

Delete Group Category

To delete a complete group (group category) along with its options (group names), follow the steps below.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu the list you want to work with, and choose Manage Subscribers.
  3. Click Groups.
  4. Locate the group category you want to remove, and click Delete.
  5. In the Are you sure? modal, type DELETE in the field provided to confirm that you want to permanently delete the group, and click Delete Groups.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Related Articles

Technical Support