Remove Subscribers

There are a few different ways to delete a list or remove subscribers.

In this article, you'll learn four ways to remove subscribers so you can determine which option works best for you.

Before You Start

Here are some things to know before you begin this process.

  • Decide whether you want to delete a subscriber, or unsubscribe them. Unsubscribed addresses can’t be sent to again.
  • As a compliance measure, subscribers who unsubscribe themselves can’t be deleted from your list.
  • For seven days after you send a campaign, automation email, or RSS Campaign, we place a temporary hold on bulk list actions.
  • We recommend that you export your lists before you perform any bulk actions. Anything you delete from your account is permanently removed and can't be recovered.
  • The subscribers you remove won't receive an unsubscribe confirmation email since they didn't request to be removed from the list.

Delete an Entire List

When you delete an entire list, you delete subscribed, unsubscribed, non-subscribed, and cleaned contacts, as well as list settings, signup forms, and list-specific reports. This action is permanent. Deleted data cannot be recovered.

To delete an entire list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Check the box next to the list you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE in all caps and click Delete.

Remove All Contacts From a List

The Delete all contacts option removes subscribed, unsubscribed, non-subscribed, and cleaned addresses from your list. This process does not delete report data or your signup forms.

To clear contacts from a list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the list you want to work with, and choose Manage contacts.
  3. Click Delete all contacts.
  4. Under the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE.
  5. Click Delete All Contacts.
    click delete all contacts button

 

Delete One or More Subscribers

When you need to remove a few subscribers, decide whether you want to delete them yourself or unsubscribe them. Deleted subscribers can be added back to your list, so if you need to make sure a subscriber isn't accidentally re-added, unsubscribe them instead.

Deleted subscribers' profiles and related statistics will be removed from your list. After you delete a subscriber, we'll show you a success message so you know the action has been completed.

To delete one or more subscribers from your list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Browse or use the Search icon to locate the subscriber(s) you want to remove.
  4. Check the box next to each subscriber you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete.

Delete a Subscriber from the Profile

Each time you delete a subscriber from your list, their profile and related statistics will be removed from your list and can't be recovered. You can only delete subscribers that you unsubscribed manually or who have Subscribed email marketing status.

To delete a single subscriber at a time, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Browse or use the Search icon to locate the subscriber you want to remove.
  4. Click the subscriber's email address to view their profile.
  5. Click Delete.
    Select Delete button
  6. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Delete.
    After you delete a subscriber, we'll show you a success message so you know the action has been completed.

Back to top

 

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Technical Support