Copy or Move Subscribers to a List

This feature requires Manager user level or higher.

Sometimes, you may want to copy or move subscribers from one list to another. Maybe you’ve exceeded your list’s group limit, for example, or use one account to manage different lists for multiple organizations.

In this article, you'll learn how to copy or move subscribers in your MailChimp account.

Before You Start

  • Review our list management tips before you copy or move subscribers into another list.

  • All lists in MailChimp are independent of each other and share no subscriber data. To send targeted content to a section of the same list, use groups or segments.

  • To retain list field data you use to personalize campaigns, make sure the new list contains the same list fields.

  • Bulk actions are prohibited on a list for seven days after it’s used. Learn more about these limitations.  

  • To copy an entire list, see Replicate a List. Or, to copy or move subscribers to a group in another list, export the subscribers from the original list and add them to the correct group when you import them back to MailChimp.

Copy Subscribers

When you copy a subscriber, their email address will appear on multiple lists. We typically discourage users from storing duplicate subscribers, because it can increase your monthly billing rate. But we know that it's necessary in some cases.

To copy subscribers to another list in your account, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.

  3. If you want to work with a specific section of your list, click Manage subscribers, and choose Groups or Segments. Then choose the group or segment you want to work with.
  4. Check the box next to each subscriber you want to copy, or click the arrow above the checkboxes to Select Visible or, if available, Select All subscribers.
    Screenshot of the Select All Option

  5. Click the Actions drop-down menu, and choose Copy to List.
  6. Click the list you want to copy your subscribers to.

Move Subscribers

Moving a subscriber completely removes their email address from one list and adds it to another. When you move a subscriber, you risk losing that subscriber’s activity and purchase history, member ratings, and other information. We recommend you export your list before moving subscribers, to save a backup of their data. However, you cannot import list activity or member rating to another list.

To move recipients to another list in your account, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.

  3. If you want to work with a specific section of your list, click Manage subscribers, and choose Groups or Segments. Then choose the group or segment you want to work with.
  4. Check the box next to each subscriber you want to move, or click the arrow above the checkboxes to Select Visible or, if available, Select All subscribers.
    Screenshot of the Select All Option

  5. Click the Actions drop-down menu, and choose Move to list.
  6. Click the list you want to move your subscribers to.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Technical Support