Edit an Active Automation

After you start your automation, you'll be able to make changes to the workflow and the emails it contains. When editing the overall automation, you can pause or resume all of your emails, change your workflow settings, reorder the sequence of content, and add new emails.

In this article, you'll learn how to find and edit an active workflow.

Before You Start

  • To learn how to edit triggers, schedules, segments, actions, or content, check out Edit Automation Emails.

  • To learn how to change who receives your automation, read Manage Subscribers in an Automation.
  • Date-based automations allow subscribers to move in and out of queues, depending on their eligibility and your delivery settings. If the overall automation or an individual email is paused on the date a subscriber is scheduled to receive an email, the subscriber misses that email and moves into the next email queue in the automation.

Pause and Resume Emails

After an automation is active, you can no longer make changes to the workflow type or list. However, you can pause emails in an automation, individually or all at once, to make other changes.

To pause all emails in an automation, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns page.

  2. Find the automation you want to work with and click Edit.
    edit workflow

  3. Click Pause All Emails.
    click pause all emails

Now that your overall automation is paused, you can make changes to any of its emails. To resume the automation, click Resume All Emails.
click resume all emails

Edit Workflow Settings

In your automation settings, you can rename your automation, change your From name or From email address, choose different tracking options, and more.

To edit your workflow settings, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns page.

  2. Find the automation you want to work with and click Edit.
    edit workflow

  3. Click Edit Workflow Settings.
    click edit workflow settings

  4. Edit your Workflow name, From name, or From email address as needed. You can also change the tracking options and other settings.

  5. Click Update Settings.
    update settings

  6. Navigate to the Confirm step and click Resume Workflow.

Reorder Emails in an Automation

You can swap the content of any emails in a draft or paused state, which allows you to reorder your automation. Triggers, scheduling, segmentation settings, queues, and post-send actions will remain the same. 

To reorder emails in a automation, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns page.

  2. Find the automation you want to work with, and click  Edit.
    edit workflow

  3. Click and drag the three dots icon next to the draft or paused email you want to work with, and drag the content to its new position. It's important to note that the email you want to swap content with must also be in a draft or paused state.
    reorder email

Add an Email

After you start an automation, you can continue to add new emails. For list activity automations, subscribers who have already met or exceeded the set delay will be held in a queue and sent the new email immediately after you resume the automation. If you don't want queued subscribers to receive the new email, use segmentation to filter them out.

To add an email to an active automation, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns page.

  2. Find the automation you want to work with, and click  Edit.
    edit workflow

  3. Click Add Email.
    Cursor clicks Add Email button.
  4. Continue through the Email Designer to create your automated email.
  5. When you're done, return to your automation timeline and click Start Email.
    Cursor clicks Start Email button.

Repeat this process to include up to 100 emails in your automation.

 

Delete Automation

When you delete a automation, you also delete its report data. Automation reports give insights into how automations perform, and can help you understand how to improve subscriber engagement. To save this information, export your report before you delete anything from your account.

To delete an automation, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns page.

  2. Find the automation you want to work with, and click Edit.
    edit workflow

  3. Click Pause All Emails.
    click pause all emails

  4. Save and exit back to the Campaigns page.
    click campaigns

  5. Check the box next to the automation you want to delete.

  6. Click Delete.
    select automation and click delete
  7. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE, and click Delete.
    type delete

Was this article helpful?
Anything else we can do to improve our site?

Technical Support