Hide Content in Email Campaign Archives and Pages

Sharing your campaign pages or email campaign archive is a great way to promote your content, but there may be some information that should only be seen by your subscribers, or a specific subscriber segment. If you want to hide, limit, or customize your email campaign archive or content in a sent campaign, there are a few ways to do this.

In this article, you'll learn how hide and manage your sent campaign content.

Before You Start

Here are some things to know before you begin this process.

Hide Campaign Text

When you design your campaign, you can use conditional merge tags to replace or remove specific content from the browser-based campaign page. For example, you might want to send an invitation to a private event, but hide ticketing information from the campaign page. Content that's hidden won't be visible to people who view your campaign but aren't subscribed to your list, like social media followers or Forward to a Friend recipients.

To use conditional merge tags to hide content from the campaign page, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Design step of the Campaign Builder.

  2. Click the content block that contains the text you want to work with.

  3. Insert this merge tag before the text you want to hide.
    *|IFNOT:ARCHIVE_PAGE|*

  4. Insert this merge tag after the text content you want to hide.
    *|END:IF|*
    Your tags should look something like this:
    Example of a text block that uses a conditional merge tag to hide text from the sent campaign page.

  5. Click Save & Close.

The content between the *|IFNOT:ARCHIVE_PAGE|* and *|END:IF|* merge tags will display for your subscriber, but will be hidden from the campaign page. Repeat these steps to hide any additional content from the campaign page.
To preview how your campaign page will look, go to Preview Mode and click the View this email in your browser archive link.

Display Different Text

To hide certain content and show different text in its place on the campaign page for your sent campaign, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Design step of the Campaign Builder.

  2. Click the content block that contains the text you want to work with.

  3. Insert this merge tag before the text you want to show on the campaign page. *|IF:ARCHIVE_PAGE|*

  4. Insert this merge tag before the text you want to show to subscribers only.
    *|ELSE:|*

  5. Add this merge tag after the text you want to show subscribers.
    *|END:IF|*
    Your tags should look something like this:
    Example of a text block that uses a conditional merge tag to display different text on the sent campaign page.

  6. Click Save & Close.

The text between the *|IF:ARCHIVE_PAGE|* and *|ELSE:|* merge tags will only display on the on the campaign page for your campaign. The text between the *|ELSE:|* and *|END:IF|* merge tags will only display in subscriber inboxes.

To preview the campaign page for your draft campaign, go to Preview Mode and click the View this email in your browser archive link.

Manage the Archive Bar

The campaign page for a sent campaign includes an Archive Bar that helps people translate your email campaign, view recent campaigns sent to the list, and more.

When the Archive Bar is on, these options appear at the top of campaign pages.

Example archive bar on a campaign page.

  • Subscribe
    This button links to the MailChimp-hosted signup form for your list.

  • Past Issues
    This button links to the email campaign archive for your list.

  • Translate
    This menu allows subscribers to translate the campaign content into one of our available languages.

  • RSS
    This button links to an RSS feed for your campaign page.

  • Share
    This button lets people who view your campaign page share it on social media, or copy the shortened URL for your campaign. This option isn't available for Regular campaigns.

The Archive Bar is enabled by default, but you can disable it if you don't want people to access your recent campaigns. This will hide your campaigns from the general public, but won't delete any campaign data from your account.

To disable the Archive Bar, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.

  2. Click the drop-down menu for the list you want to work with, and choose Settings.
    A cursor clicking the settings option.

  3. Click Publicity Settings.

  4. Uncheck the Activate the "archive bar" for this list box.

  5. Click Save Publicity Settings.
    Save publicity settings button.

Now subscribers won't see the Archive Bar when they view your campaign pages. You can re-enable it at any time.

Filter Campaign Archive

The email campaign archive displays 20 of your list's most recent campaigns. To only show specific campaigns, designate a folder of campaigns to display on the archive. First, create a folder and add the campaigns you want displayed in the archive. Then, set your archive to display only that folder's campaigns.

To edit the archive to show only the contents of your designated folder, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.

  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the list you want to work with and choose Signup forms.

  3. Select General forms.

  4. Click the Forms and response emails drop-down menu, and choose Campaign archive page.

  5. Check the box next to Only show campaigns in a specific folder, and choose a folder from the drop-down menu.

Now your email campaign archive will display the 20 most recent campaigns from the folder you chose.

Remove Certain Campaigns

To remove campaigns from the email campaign archive, we recommend you filter your campaigns with a folder, so only the campaigns you choose display in the archive.

Alternatively, you can use a custom archive on an external website, or delete the campaigns.

Use a Custom Email Campaign Archive

If you need more control over your archive, use a custom archive hosted on your website instead of the MailChimp campaign archive. To do this, you'll turn off MailChimp's Archive Bar and embed a custom archive on your website. A custom email campaign archive allows you to choose which campaigns display, and set the number of campaigns that appear.

Delete a Campaign

We typically advise against deleting campaigns because this action also removes campaign reports from the Reports section of your account. However, we realize that some campaigns may need to be completely removed.
When you delete a campaign from the Campaigns page in your account, it won't be removed from subscriber inboxes, but it will be removed from your email campaign archive and break any archive links to that campaign.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Technical Support