Delete Contacts

Sometimes, you may want to delete one or more contacts from your list. There are a couple of ways to delete your contacts, depending on how many you want to remove at a time.  

In this article, you'll learn how to delete contacts from your list.

Before You Start

Here are some things to know before you begin this process.

  • As a compliance measure, contacts who unsubscribe themselves can't be deleted from your list.
  • We recommend that you export your lists before you perform any bulk actions. Anything you delete from your account is permanently removed and can't be recovered.
  • For seven days after you send an email campaign, we place a temporary hold on bulk list actions.
  • The contacts you remove won't receive an unsubscribe confirmation email since they didn't request to be removed from the list.

Delete vs. Unsubscribe

When you need to remove contacts from your list, first decide whether you want to delete them or unsubscribe them. Deleted contacts' profiles and related data will be removed from your list and can't be recovered. Deleted contacts can also be added back to your list, so if you need to make sure a subscribed contact isn't accidentally re-added, unsubscribe them instead. 

Unsubscribe People from a List

Delete Specific Contacts

If you only want to delete a specific contact or set of contacts, you'll navigate to your list and select which addresses to remove. Only two types of contacts can be deleted: subscribed contacts, and contacts who were unsubscribed by an account Admin. 

To delete specific contacts from your list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with. 
  3. In the list view, browse or use the Search icon to locate the contact(s) you want to delete.
  4. Check the box next to each contact you want to delete.
  5. Click Delete.

We'll show you a success message so you know the action has been completed.

 

From the Profile Page

To delete a single contact from their profile page, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Browse or use the Search icon to locate the contact you want to remove.
  4. Click the contact's email address to view their profile.
  5. Click Delete.
    Select Delete button
  6. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Delete.

We'll show you a success message so you know the action has been completed.

Delete All Contacts From a List

The Delete all contacts option does not delete report data or your signup forms. To learn how to delete an entire list from your account, read Delete a List.

To delete all of the contacts from your list, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the list you want to work with, and choose Manage contacts.
  3. Click Delete all contacts.
  4. Under the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE.
  5. Click Delete All Contacts.
    click delete all contacts button

 

Was this article helpful?
Anything else we can do to improve our site?

Technical Support