Each MailChimp account has five levels of access available for users: Viewer, Author, Manager, Admin, and Owner. Both the Owner and Admin can invite other users to join, and they can assign user levels.

Below, you'll learn how to grant and remove account access and about the differences between each of the user types.

In this article:

User Type

  • Owner
    The Owner serves as the primary contact for the account. Owners and Admins have all the same permissions.
  • Admin
    The Admin can perform all actions in the account, including inviting new users, editing billing information, and closing the account.
  • Manager
    The Manager can create and send campaigns, import lists, and view reports, but can't view billing information, export lists, or close the account.
  • Author
    The Author can create, edit, and delete campaigns, templates, and automation workflows, and view reports.
  • Viewer 
    The Viewer can view reports in the account. 

Grant Account Access

The User details page displays the names, usernames, and user types for everyone who can access your MailChimp account. From this page, you can revoke access, view pending account invitations, and re-send or cancel invitation emails.

Invite a User

  1. Click your profile name to expand the Account Panel, and select Account.
    Choose Account from the Account Panel.
  2. Click the Account settings drop-down menu and choose User details.  
    User Details tab
  3. Click the Invite A User button on the right side of the screen.
  4. Add the email address of the person you want to grant access to and choose an option under User type. You can add a message to share any pertinent information or instructions for your account.
  5. Click the Send Invitation button to invite that user to your account.
      Invite a user send invite button

The email invitation prompts the recipient to join your account under the user level you selected. If the person already has a MailChimp account, they can use that username and password to log in and access your account or they can create a new username and password to use for your account. To better protect accounts with multiple users, use our two-factor authentication solution AlterEgo.

Change Account Access

An Admin can change a user's level of access from the User details page in their account.

  1. Click your profile name to expand the Account Panel, and choose Account.
    Choose Account from the Account Panel.
  2. Click the Account settings drop-down menu and choose User details.
    User Details tab
  3. Click the Edit button for the user whose access level you'd like to change.
    Click Edit for the user whose levels you want to edit.
  4. Choose the level of access you'd like to grant this user, then click the Save button. Edit User Details

You can transfer ownership of an account to any user with an Admin user level. After you’ve made a user an Admin following the steps above, repeat the process to change their user type to Owner and click Save. The previous Owner's user type changes to Admin.

Remove Account Access

Owners and Admins can revoke access to users at any time, while Mangers, Authors, and Viewers can revoke their own access.

Owner or Admin Revokes Access

Anyone with Admin permissions can delete any other user's access. If an Admin wants to revoke their own access, a different account Admin or the Owner will need to revoke access.

  1. Click your profile name to expand the Account Panel, and select Account.
    Choose Account from the Account Panel.
  2. Click the Account Settings drop-down menu and choose User details.
    User Details tab
  3. Click the Revoke Access button for the user you want to remove.
  4. In the pop-up window, click the Yes, Delete User button to confirm the removal.

User Disables Access

You can remove yourself from another user's account in the Account section.

  1. Click your profile name to expand the Account Panel, and select Account.
  2. Click the Account settings drop-down menu and select Account details.
  3. Under Connections and notifications, click the Leave Account button for the account you wish to leave.

When you leave an account, your profile is completely deleted and you can no longer access the account. If this is the only account you have access to, your username and password will stop working on the login page.

Compare Permission Types

User Action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

Account Actions

Invite users

Revoke account access
Set user access level
Require AlterEgo authentication
Change billing information
Change company/organization name
Add or access API keys
Integrations
Monkey Rewards and Partner Discounts
Account export
Close account

User Action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

List Actions

View lists
List export
List import
Add subscribers
Delete subscribers
View segments
Edit list settings

User Action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

Design

Create/Import templates

Edit templates
Create campaigns
Edit campaigns
Send campaigns
Pause campaigns
Delete campaigns

User Action

Admin

Manager

Author

Viewer

Reports

View reports
Subscriber-level reports
Conversations

Note

  • You can transfer ownership of your account at any time. You need to have two users with Admin permissions so that you can transfer ownership from the current Owner to the other Admin.
  • Integrations that connect via API keys will continue to work as expected. Integrations that use OAuth2 to integrate with MailChimp will currently only work with Admin or Manager level user types.
  • The Mandrill integration page is limited to the account Owner only and will not be accessible by any other Admins or Managers.  

This feature is limited to certain user levels. You can see your user level on the Users & Account Details page and this article explains what each level can access in the account.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve your experience with articles like this?
Thanks for submitting your feedback!
At this time, we are unable to reply to any responses, but we'll use this information to keep the site up-to-date.
Sorry, we were unable to submit your feedback. Please try again later. Thank you for your patience.

Related Articles