From the View subscribers screen, you can view and export active subscribers and segments as well as the unsubscribed and cleaned addresses from your list. Below we walk you through how to view and export subscribers from your account and also show you how to view the subscriber export history for each list.

Contents

View or export your list

To open the View subscribers screen, navigate to the Lists page in your account and click a list title. The View subscribers screen shows the active list subscribers by default and has options for viewing segments of your list and exporting subscribers. To view the unsubscribed and cleaned email addresses for a list, click the Subscribed drop down menu and select Unsubscribed or Cleaned.

To export subscribers, first click the Export List button to go to the Subscriber Exports page where we prepare your file for download. When the export is ready, click the Export button. Depending on the size of the subscriber export, it may take a few moments before your subscribers are ready for export.

Lists are exported in CSV format. This is a very flexible file type that can be used in Excel, Google Spreadsheets, and other spreadsheet programs.

View or export a segment of your list

To view a segment of your list, first click the Segments drop down menu on the View subscribers screen. Select a saved segment or click the New Segment button to create a different segment.

Select segment

If you select a saved segment, the subscribers in that segment display on the View subscribers screen automatically. If you're creating a new segment, set your segmenting criteria then click the Preview Segment button.

Preview segment

Once the segment is visible, start the segment export by clicking the Export Segment button. When your export is ready, click the Export button on the Subscriber Exports screen.

View subscriber exports

Any list or segment export is viewable from the list's Subscriber Exports screen. To view exports for a list follow the steps below.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the list's drop down menu.
  3. Select Exports.

    Exports

The Subscriber Exports screen shows previous exports for a list including the export format, the date subscribers were exported, which user made the export, and how many subscribers were exported on that date.

Select all exports

Use this screen to export or manually delete previous subscriber exports. MailChimp automatically deletes Subscriber Export items 30 days after the original export date. Deleted exports only remove the record of the export from the Subscriber Exports screen and do not delete any subscribers from your list. This screen also has an option to filter between CSV or Twitter Tailored Audiences exports.

Subscriber exports filter

This feature is accessible by users with Admin level permissions. Take a look at this article to learn more about the different access levels for a MailChimp account.

Notes

You can also sort subscribers by field information in your list. Clicking the label at the top of each field column will arrange the viewed subscribers in ascending or descending order based on the information stored in that field for each subscriber. This is good to use if you'd like to see your subscribers ordered alphabetically for example.

This feature is for viewing purposes only, so there's not a way to save or export subscribers in the order they've been sorted in.



Related Articles