Our *|UPDATE_PROFILE|* merge tag automatically generates a link to your list's Update Profile Form. When your subscribers click this link, they can update their subscription preferences directly in their web browsers. Below we'll show you how to add our *|UPDATE_PROFILE|* merge tag to your MailChimp campaigns.

Contents

Add update profile link using the link tool

  1. Navigate to the Design step of the Campaign Builder.
  2. Click a text content block to edit it.
    Campaign builder pencil icon
  3. Add the text you want to link, such as Update Profile, and highlight it.
  4. Click the link button in the toolbar.

    Link Button in the Toolbar

  5. Type or paste the *|UPDATE_PROFILE|* merge tag into the Web Address (URL) field.

    Pop up screen for Link

  6. Click the Insert button to save the link.
  7. Click the Save & Close button in the content editor to save all changes.

Add update profile link in the source code

  1. On the text block toolbar click the < > button to view the source code.

    Source code button

  2. Add the following code where you want your Update Profile link to appear:

    <a href="*|UPDATE_PROFILE|*">Update Profile</a> 
  3. Click the < > button to return to the visual editor to review the design.
  4. Click Save & Close when you're done.

Add update profile link in your custom code

If you've custom-coded a template or campaign, you can also add a Update Profile link to your own HTML. Copy and paste the following code wherever you'd like the link to appear:

<a href="*|UPDATE_PROFILE|*">Update Profile</a>

Add update profile link in a plain-text campaign

When editing a plain-text campaign, type the merge tag in as regular text. We'll populate the link automatically once your campaign sends. Here's an example:

Update Profile: *|UPDATE_PROFILE|*

This feature is available to users with Author level or higher permissions. Take a look at this article to learn more about the different access levels for a MailChimp account.

Notes

Our *|UPDATE_PROFILE|* merge tag will only work when the campaign is sent to a managed list. Until that point, you're in a draft or production mode and nothing has been saved to our servers just yet.


Related Articles