When someone opts-in to your MailChimp list, they're giving permission to receive your email marketing campaigns. Permission can go stale pretty quickly, so you only have a brief amount of time to reach out to your new subscribers before they forget having signed up for your list. Generally speaking, you've got about 6 months before a subscriber's permission goes stale. If your subscribers haven't heard from you within the last 6 months, you'll need to reconfirm their permission.

As an added benefit, when you reconfirm your list you'll also target those subscribers who really want to hear from you. Double opted-in lists have much higher engagement levels over time which translates to more opens and clicks and fewer bounces and unsubscribes. In ROI terms, your investment will stay fairly low while your return will increase! Check out our blog post for more info.

Contents

Reconfirm an existing list in your MailChimp account.

Before you reconfirm your subscribers' permission, you'll need to export and save your existing MailChimp list, remove stale addresses, and then grab the link to your MailChimp signup form to send along with your reconfirmation message.

Export and save your list

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to export.
    List name
  3. Click the Download button next to the Toggle Columns drop down menu to download a csv file of the active subscribers to your computer.
    Export list button

Remove stale addresses from your list

  1. While still on the View subscribers page, click the Manage subscribers drop down menu and choose Unsubscribe people.
    unsubscribe people
  2. Copy and paste the email addresses from your exported list file into the box under Unsubscribe People.
    Export list button
  3. Click the Unsubscribe button to remove the addresses from your list.

These addresses will now be stored in the Unsubscribed portion of your list. You can view the unsubscribed addresses for a list by heading back to the View subscribers page for that list and changing Subscribed to Unsubscribed in the drop down menu next to Segment.
List name

Copy the link to your MailChimp signup form

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the list drop down menu and select Signup forms for the list you're working with.
    List name
  3. Click the General forms option
    List name
  4. Copy the Signup Form URL.
    Signup form URL

Send a reconfirmation message

To send your reconfirmation message, create a brand new email outside of MailChimp in your favorite email client or program. Add the link to your MailChimp signup form and ask your recipients to re-subscribe to your list. Be sure to send the email from an address that can be linked to your personal, company, or blog website. You might also wish to include links to your past newsletters or link to a new sample newsletter you've created.

Haven't uploaded your list to MailChimp yet?

No worries! If you haven't uploaded your contacts to MailChimp yet, you can create a brand new list before reconfirming your subscribers' permission.

Create a new list in MailChimp

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the Create List button in the top right of the page.
    create a new list
  3. Click the Create List button from the options that appear.
    Create list
  4. Fill in your list details under the Set up your new list heading.
  5. When you're finished, click the Save button and you'll see options to import contacts and customize the list's signup form. Click Ok, Got it if you're done for now.

Copy the link to your MailChimp signup form

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the list drop down menu and select Signup forms for the list you're working with.
    List name
  3. Click the General forms option
    List name
  4. Copy the Signup Form URL.
    Signup form URL

Send a reconfirmation message

To send your reconfirmation message, create a brand new email outside of MailChimp in your favorite email client or program. Add the link to your MailChimp signup form and ask your recipients to subscribe to your MailChimp list. Be sure to send the email from an address that can be linked to your personal, company, or blog website. You might also wish to include a link to a sample newsletter you've created or link to your website or blog where subscribers can view previous newsletters.

This feature is accessible by users with Manager level or higher permissions. Take a look at this article to learn more about the different access levels for a MailChimp account.

Notes

It's important that you send reconfirmation emails from outside of your MailChimp account. We don't want your account to send up a bunch of red flags. We want to help people remember who you are and what your emails are all about, and most importantly, re-establish permission to email them. So protect your reputation and send your reconfirm message outside of MailChimp in a personal email account.


Related Articles