Edit an Active Automation Workflow

This feature requires Author user level or higher and is part of paid features.

After you start your Automation workflow, you might need to filter, pause, edit, resume, or delete a workflow or individual emails, or add a new email to your workflow.

In this article, you'll learn how to perform each of these operations, and how to view subscribers in your workflow queue.

Filter, Pause, Resume, or Delete Workflows

Filter

The Filter menu on the Automation page lets you sort Automation workflows by list and status.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click the Filter drop-down menu, and choose whether to filter by List, Status, or both.
    Grab three dots and drag with hand cursor.
  3. Choose the options you want from each drop-down menu, and click Apply.
    Cursor over Filter button next to Folders button.

To clear the filter, click the X icon in the blue alert box or open the Filter menu and click Reset.
Click X on alert.  Reset filter in modal.

Pause and Resume

To make changes to your trigger settings, you first need to pause your workflow. After an Automation workflow is active, you can no longer make changes to the workflow type, list, or email order.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the Automation workflow you want to work with, and choose Pause all emails.
    Select Pause from the drop-down menu to pause all emails in the workflow.

To resume a workflow, click the drop-down menu next to the Automation workflow, and choose Resume all emails, or navigate to the Confirm step and click Resume Workflow.

Delete

You can delete a workflow from the Automation page. When you delete a workflow, you'll also delete its report. To save the report data, export your report before you delete anything from your account.

Before you can delete an Automation workflow, you must pause the workflow. To delete a workflow, follow the steps below.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the workflow you want to work with, and choose Pause all emails. Repeat this step for each workflow you want to delete.
    Select Pause Workflow to pause all emails in the workflow.
  3. Check the box next to each workflow you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
    Click Delete on button row between Filter and Move To.
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE in all caps, and click Delete.
    DELETE showing in field, cursor clicks Delete.

Pause, Edit, Resume, or Delete Emails

Pause, Edit, and Resume

While an email is paused, you can make changes to its layout, content, delay, and delivery and segmentation settings.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click Edit next to the Automation workflow that includes the email you want to pause.
    Click the Edit button for the workflow you want to edit.
  3. Navigate to the Emails step.
  4. Find the email you want to pause and click Pause & Edit.
    Click Pause for the email you want to edit.
  5. Click Edit Email.
  6. Navigate through the steps of the Email Builder to make changes, and click Save and Return to Workflow after you're finished.

You’ll need to resume the email before it will send to queued subscribers again. To resume an email, return to the Email step of the Automation Builder, and choose Resume from the drop-down menu.
Cursor hovers over the Resume button.

Delete

You can delete a single email from any workflow. When you delete an email, its associated statistics will continue to appear in the workflow report under Deleted Workflow Emails, but the individual email report will be removed from your account. Subsequent emails in a workflow move up in the timeline.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click Edit next to the Automation workflow you want to work with.
  3. Navigate to the Emails step.
  4. Find the email you want to delete and click the Trashcan icon.
    Cursor on trashcan icon.
  5. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, type DELETE in all caps, and click Delete.
    DELETE showing in field, cursor clicks Delete.

Subscribers who are queued to receive the email you delete will then be queued to receive the next email in the workflow. 

Add an Email

After you start an Automation workflow, you can add emails to the workflow.

For date-based workflows, you can reorder the emails however you want, since emails are sent based on a specific date.

You can’t reorder emails in an activity-based workflow, but you can add emails to the end of the workflow. In the case of activity-based workflows, queued subscribers who have already met or exceeded the delay for the new email will receive it when you resume the automation.

To add an email to an active workflow, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click Edit next to the Automation workflow you want to work with.
  3. Navigate to the Emails step.
  4. Click Add Email.
    Cursor clicks Add Email button.
  5. Continue through the Email Designer to create your automated email.
  6. When you’re done, return to your workflow timeline and click Start Email.
    Cursor clicks Start Email button.

Repeat this process to include up to 100 emails in your workflow.

View Subscriber Queue

When a subscriber meets the trigger criteria in an active workflow, they'll appear in the sending queue of each email as they move through the Automation workflow. After a subscriber gets one email in the workflow, they'll move into the next email queue. You can see who's in each queue from the Emails step.

  1. Navigate to the Automation page.
  2. Click Edit next to the Automation workflow you want to work with.
  3. Navigate to the Emails step.
  4. Find an email on the timeline, and click the subscribers in queue link.
    Cursor clicks the text 1 subscribers in queue.

In the pop-up modal, we'll display all the subscribers in the queue, as well as the date and time they'll receive the email.
Pop-up showing the next subscriber in the list.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?