MailChimp automatically creates an archive for every campaign you create. The archive is what people see when they forward the campaign to a friend, as well as when they click the view in browser link. A link to the archive is also shared when your campaign is auto-posted to Facebook or auto-tweeted to Twitter.
Below, we walk through a few ways to limit the campaign archive.
In this article:
- Remove the View in Browser Link
- Disable viewing past issue in the archive
- Limit what's shown in the archive
Remove the View in Browser Link
As a general rule, it's a good idea to let people open campaigns in a browser in case their email program can't display HTML or if they're on a mobile phone. However, if you don't want the campaign archive readily available to subscribers, here's how to remove that link:
- In the Design step of the Campaign Builder edit the region where the view in browser link appears.
- Delete the text that's linked to the campaign archive. It can be deleted just like regular text and that will remove the archive link from your campaign.
- Click Save to keep the changes.
- If you're using one of our templates, be sure to check the pre-header area as well as the footer because many templates have a view in browser link in both places.
Disable viewing past issue in the archive
We have a handy archive bar that helps subscribers share your campaign, translate it, view past campaigns sent to the list, and more. Removing the archive bar is an important step if you need to limit access to past campaigns or regularly send campaigns to a segment of your list.
Limit what's shown in the archive
Sometimes you might send content that's only intended for your subscribers, and you don't want people who see the campaign on a social network or who are forwarded the campaign with a forward to a friend link to see that top secret content. You can limit what's shown on the campaign archive page by using some conditional merge tags.
There are two conditional merge tags that can be used to display different content on the campaign archive:
Content after this tag, and before an *|ELSE:|* or *|END:IF|* tag will ONLY be shown on the campaign archive, and not in the emails subscribers receive. If you're using this tag, anything after the *|ELSE:|* tag will be shown in the sent emails.
Content after this tag, and before an *|ELSE:|* or *|END:IF|* tag will ONLY be shown in the emails subscribers receive, and not in the campaign archive. If you're using this tag, anything after the *|ELSE:|* tag will be shown in the campaign archive.
Let's say you want to give newsletter subscribers a discount, but you want to encourage people who don't subscribe to become a member of your list instead of showing the discount information. Here's how you can do that:
- In the Design step of the Campaign Builder, click to edit the region where you want to limit content.
- Add the following merge tag:
- After the merge tag, insert the content you want to be shown to subscribers, such as We're offering a 10% discount to newsletter subscribers! Just enter this code at checkout to have the discount applied: NEWSLETTER-LOYALTY.
- Add this merge tag after that:
- Insert the content to be shown on the campaign archive. It might be something like Newsletter subscribers get occasional discounts just for subscribing. Click here to subscribe to our newsletter and get exclusive subscriber-only discounts! - you could then provide the link to your signup form.
- At the end of the content that is only being shown on the campaign archive, add one more merge tag:
- Click save.
Just add *|IFNOT:ARCHIVE_PAGE|* at the beginning of your content and *|END:IF|* at the end of all your content.
|Was this article helpful?||
|What can we do to improve your experience with articles like this?|
At this time, we are unable to reply to any responses, but we'll use this information to keep the site up-to-date.