Many settings for each of your lists list can be changed or edited from the List name & defaults screen including list name, campaign defaults, subscription settings, and subscribe/unsubscribe notifications. To find this screen in your account follow the steps below. 

In this article:

Finding the "List name & defaults" screen

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the list drop-down menu for the list you want to work with and select Settings.
    Select Settings from the list drop-down menu
  3. From the Settings screen, click List name & defaults.
  4. Make any changes you'd like to the list's settings(such as list name) and press the Save button when you're finished.
    Make changes to list and press Save

Setting the "From" information and "subject line"

The settings for these three defaults will be pulled into the Setup step of the Campaign Builder automatically each time you create a new campaign set to send to this list. These defaults help maintain consistency among the campaigns sent to a list, but if you ever want to change that information for a single campaign this article has steps for how to do that from within the Campaign Builder.
Campaign Builder campaign defaults

Changing Subscription settings

Under Subscription settings, you'll have a few options that can be enabled or disabled for your list.

Sending a final welcome email can be pretty useful if you want to reach out to a subscriber once more after they confirm their subscription, but we allow this option to be turned off should you need to. One thing to note is that a final welcome email will not be sent to any subscribers that are added manually by you to your list. Only subscribers that sign up to your list through the form you built on MailChimp or from a form you have pointing to MailChimp that uses our confirmation process will be sent the final welcome email.

The unsubscribe confirmation email functions mainly as an easy way for a subscriber to resubscribe to your list in the event they've unsubscribed accidentally. However some subscribers find this additional email to be an annoyance, so we've allowed this option to be disabled as well.

By default subscribers have the option to choose their preferred email format(plain-text or HTML) when signing up for the list. If allowing subscribers to pick their preferred format is disabled, all subscribers in that list will default to receive the HTML version of any campaigns sent to that list. These settings can also be changed within the form builder for your list. 

Subscribe and unsubscribe notifications

Subscribe and unsubscribe notifications alert you when someone joins or leaves your list and can be enabled on a per-list basis. On this screen you'll be able to provide one or multiple email addresses to receive subscription notifications. If you're adding multiple addresses to receive these notifications, make sure that they're each separated by a comma and those addresses combined do not exceed the 100 character limit for those fields.

These notifications can be sent individually as the events occur or you can opt to receive a single, daily summary of subscribe and unsubscribe activity on your list. Below is what an individual subscribe notification looks like.


If you do not wish to receive these sort of notifications, simply leave the notification fields blank. If you have trouble receiving these notifications be sure to check out this article for some trouble shooting tips. 

This feature is limited to certain user levels. You can see your user level on the Users & Account Details page and this article explains what each level can access in the account.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve your experience with articles like this?
Thanks for submitting your feedback!
At this time, we are unable to reply to any responses, but we'll use this information to keep the site up-to-date.
Sorry, we were unable to submit your feedback. Please try again later. Thank you for your patience.

Related Articles