Resubscribe a Contact

This feature requires Manager user level or higher.

When a subscribed contact clicks the unsubscribe link in your MailChimp campaign, or when you manually unsubscribe a contact, the system assumes it was done on purpose and changes the contact's email marketing status. But we know accidents happen, so there are a couple of ways to resubscribe a contact. 

In this article, you’ll learn how to resubscribe a contact.

Before You Start

  • As an email service provider, MailChimp respects any contact’s request to be unsubscribed. Contacts who unsubscribe themselves cannot be deleted. To resubscribe, they need to opt-in through your list signup form or confirmation email.

  • If you bulk unsubscribe addresses for list maintenance purposes, it's possible to manually resubscribe those addresses.

  • In every case, we recommend you send a reconfirmation campaign for the best list engagement.

Resubscribe with Double Opt-In

When a contact who unsubscribed wants to resubscribe, they should sign up again on your MailChimp-hosted signup form. This form uses the double opt-in process by default, which captures the date and time the contact gave you permission to send them emails. This helps establish confirmation that the contact wants to receive your marketing emails.

If someone has contacted you to ask about resubscribing, send them a link to your signup form.

Resubscribe Email Addresses Manually

If you've manually unsubscribed  contacts from your email marketing, you can resubscribe them manually, as well. Contacts who unsubscribe themselves will need to resubscribe through your signup form.

To manually resubscribe contacts, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.

  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.

  3. Check the box next to the contact you want to resubscribe and click the Resubscribe button.

  4. In the Are you sure? pop-up modal, click Confirm.
    Confirm button image

 

Resend a Confirmation Email

If someone contacts you to ask why they haven't received a confirmation email or other campaigns, they may need to complete their subscription. When someone requests a confirmation email, you can send it to them from their profile. You should only resend a confirmation email if someone has explicitly requested it.

To resend a confirmation email from a profile page, follow these steps.

  1. On the profile page, click Resend Confirmation Email.
    subscriber profile page image
  2. In the Are you sure? Pop-up modal, click Resend Confirmation Email.
    Resend Confirmation Email button

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve articles like this?

Related Articles

Technical Support