How to Reconfirm a List

This feature requires Manager user level or higher.

When you reconfirm your list, you remove email addresses from your list that are no longer engaged or valid and leave only the subscribers who want to engage with your content.

In general, permission tends to go stale after about six months. If there are subscribers on your list who haven't been sent a campaign in six months or more, you need to reconfirm their permission before you send to them again. When they opt in to your list, they give you permission to send campaigns to them.

We strongly recommend that you always use our double opt-in process, including when you reconfirm a list. Double opt-in reconfirmation helps focus your list on engaged subscribers who want to hear from you, which leads to more opens and clicks, and fewer bounces and unsubscribes.

Below, you'll learn how to reconfirm the subscribers on your contact list.

Prepare a MailChimp List

To reconfirm a list, you'll export your list, bulk unsubscribe those addresses, and send the subscribers a link to your signup form.

Export and Save your List

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
    Click list you want to export
  3. Click Export List.

    Twitter Tailored Audiences users will see an Export List drop-down menu. Choose to CSV file.
  4. When the export is ready, a green checkmark appears. To download the file, click Export as CSV.
  5. Save the export file to your computer.

Unsubscribe addresses from your list

Next, you'll unsubscribe the addresses you exported.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the name of the list you want to work with.
  3. Click the Manage subscribers drop-down menu and choose Unsubscribe people.
    Choose Unsubscribe people from Manage subscribers drop-down menu
  4. Open your CSV export file and copy and paste the email addresses into the Unsubscribe People field.
  5. Click Unsubscribe. Paste email addresses into box under Unsubscribe People
    These addresses are moved to the Unsubscribed portion of your list. To view the unsubscribed addresses for a list, click a list name to open the View Subscribers page. Click the Subscribed drop-down menu and choose Unsubscribed. View Unsubscribed email address on View subscribers page

After the addresses are unsubscribed from your list, get ready to send a reconfirmation message.

Get your Signup Form URL

In your reconfirmation message, you'll include a link to your signup form so that subscribers can opt back into your list. To find your signup form URL, follow the steps below.

  1. Navigate to the Lists page.
  2. Click the drop-down menu next to the list you want to work with, and choose Signup forms.
  3. Select General forms.
  4. Make any changes to your form, as needed.
  5. Copy the URL from the Signup form URL field.

Send a Reconfirmation Message

To send your reconfirmation message, create a brand new email outside of MailChimp. We recommend that you use your regular email program and email address, so that subscribers will recognize the sender.

  1. Copy the addresses from your exported CSV file into the BCC field.
  2. Craft a message that asks subscribers to resubscribe to your list.
  3. Include the link or links to your MailChimp signup form somewhere in the body of the email.

Consider including an explanation of the types of campaign content you'll send to these subscribers. Many users send links to past newsletters, or to a new sample newsletter, as well.

You're all set. As you send campaigns to these reconfirmed subscribers, you should see healthy engagement. To keep up with their information, include an Update Profile link in every campaign you send.

Was this article helpful?
What can we do to improve your experience with articles like this?

Technical Support